Council Members

  • Profile Photo

    Rachael Hackett

  • Profile Photo

    Dr Nada Hamad


    Dr Nada Hamad is a staff specialist BMT, clinical and laboratory haematologist at St Vincent’s hospital in Sydney. She is the director of haematolgy clinical trials at St Vincent's Hospital. She is the ACI NSW BMT network director and the ALLG BMTCT chair. She is a senior lecturer at the University of Sydney and University of NSW. She is the past chair of the EviQ haematology reference committee. Dr Hamad studied Medicine at the University of Sydney and completed her Haematology training in Sydney. Prior to her career in medicine, she completed a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Forensics, working in this field for a short period of time.  She completed two post-graduate fellowships in BMT and lymphoma at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre in Toronto Canada through the University of Toronto. She has a strong interest in clinical trials, has a specialist certificate in Clinical Research (Oncology) from the University of Melbourne and is an active member of the Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group (ALLG) as a member of a number of disease group committees. Her BMT clinical research interests are in graft versus host disease and long term follow up post BMT.

  • Profile Photo

    Dr Ashish Bajel


    Dr Ashish Bajel is a clinical and BMT Haematologist, at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. He is the disease group lead for acute leukaemia and myelodysplastic syndrome. He oversees the umbilical cord blood transplant and haplo-identical bone marrow transplant programs at the VCCC. He is a member of disease group committees in the Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group (ALLG) and CIBMTR. He is committed to clinical and translational research aimed at developing new treatments for acute leukaemia and improving outcomes in allogeneic transplant.

  • Profile Photo

    Jason Butler


    Dr Jason Butler is a senior staff specialist at the Bone Marrow Transplant Unit, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital. He has dual training in clinical and laboratory haematology. Dr Butler also completed a Masters in Medical Science (Clinical Epidemiology) to assist with development of investigator-initiator research studies. He is the chair of the EviQ haematology reference committee. His major clinical interests are in all aspects of malignant haematology, particularly in leukaemia, lymphoma, and myeloma, as well as autologous and allogeneic stem cell transplantation, including investigator roles on clinical studies in each of these fields. Dr Butler also undertakes other roles, including extensive educational support and clinical presentations for patients and health professionals, and advocacy roles as a board member for Lymphoma Australia.

  • Profile Photo

    A/Professor Tracey O’Brien

    Paediatric Representative

    A/Professor Tracey O’Brien is the Director of the Kids Cancer Centre and the Head of the BMT program at the Sydney Children’s Hospital. She is a member of the CIBMTR advisory board, BMT NSW Executive Member and has served as past Vice President of the Australian and New Zealand Children’s Haematology and Oncology Group. She has expertise in treating childhood cancers with subspecialty training in stem cell transplant and is internationally recognised as a leader in umbilical cord blood transplant. In addition to her specialist medical training, Professor O’Brien holds a psychology degree, Masters in Law and an MBA bringing a unique skill set to lead cross functional research and clinical teams and translate innovation into health practice and policy. Her research interests include transplant outcomes, cellular therapies, health system research and bioethics.

  • Profile Photo

    Professor Ian Kerridge

    General Council Member

    Professor Ian Kerridge is Staff Specialist Haematologist, BMT physician and Collection Facilities Director at Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney. He trained in medicine at the University of Newcastle, philosophy at the Universities of Sydney, Newcastle and Cambridge and BMT at the Royal Free Hospital in London. He is Co-Chair of the NSW BMT Network Long-term Follow-Up Working Group, Board Member of the NSW Stem Cell Network and was previously Chair of the NSW Cancer Institute’s EviQ HPT Reference Group (2006-2015). Ian is a Professor of Bioethics and Medicine at the University of Sydney, Chair of the RACP Ethics Committee, a member of the NSW Health Department’s Clinical Ethics Advisory Panel and was previously Chair of the ABMDR’s Research Ethics Committee. He is also Director of Praxis Australia – a Not-for-Profit initiative aimed at promoting and providing education in research. His current research interests include late effects of BMT, stem cell mobilization and multiple myeloma.


Not recently active